Black American Expatriate Living in Amsterdam Is Debating a Return to the US to Expose Her Son to Cultural Pride – The Root

Posted: February 6, 2015 in Black History Month, Black in America, Education, Food For Thought, Good Reads...., Research

Black American Expatriate Living in Amsterdam Is Debating a Return to the US to Expose Her Son to Cultural Pride – The Root.

 

This is so true. During Christmas in Amsterdam, I was so confused over this Zwarte Piet (Black Pete) cat. I was like this is Blackface. This is racist. Everyone assured me that it has nothing to do with racism, but I am still skeptical of the homie. He’s not apart of the Christmas story I know. The whole story of Santa, Father Christmas, and some tennis shoe during the holidays had me bugging.

I hope this family decides to raise their son in Amsterdam. He can visit the U.S. in the summers, but it might be safer for him in The Netherlands. Then again, being objectified is an entirely different story. You get the stairs, the pointing, the questions, the looks, the generalizations, the stereotypes, and a lot of things that you’re completely clueless about because you’re Black in a largely white area. 

The main question I am asked is: where are you from? I always respond: Texas. No like really, where are you from? Longview, Texas. No, No, No, like in Africa, where are you from? Me (clueless look) I’m from Texas. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. For most people, America is a migrant land. No one is really “from” America. I guess Native Americans are not people, but I digress. The whole slavery story just does not seem to resonate with people. It’s like I get accused of not know my heritage because I said he God make me Black. It’s quite enraging.

Leave a Reply

